Home > Obama, politics > I Love you, Rachel Maddow, but…

I Love you, Rachel Maddow, but…

…I think to even put Sarah Palin in the same category as Dick Cheney is giving Palin far more depth than she has. I mean, come on…Palin is to Cheney as Kevin James is to Ruppert Murdoch, as Fredo Corleone is to Don Corleone, as your typical stickup man is to The Joker. Your comparison is too flattering to her.

Whereas Sarah is spooky, in a Jim Jones kind of way, and inexperienced, Cheney, I would argue, is diabolical, in a Keyser Soze kind of way, and over-qualified for the position he holds, and is de-facto president of these United States. It’s almost an insult to Cheney.

Maybe it’s me. Maybe I have given Cheney way too much credit. But, in my mind, I have built him up as the true mastermind behind the past 8 years. Bush was merely the face of this operation, a mask of what Brooks called Excessive Decisiveness, but it required a keen mind with a clear purpose, refined over decades of “public service” to truly put this thing together. Bush was not it, but in Cheney the NeoCons got all of they could have asked for and then some.

I think, secretly, I admire Cheney the same way I admire Don Corleone. I remember sunday mornings since 9/11, watching him on Meet The Press, spinning, weaving, ducking, obfuscating and lying his way through some of the toughest questioning Tim Roussert could throw and I was impressed. Condi RIce and Colin Powell were also pros at the game, but they came across as more authentic, I think. Perhaps they didn’t know as much about what was happening in the Cheney/Bush White House as they should have known. But, there was no doubt in my mind that Cheney was lying with every breath, Keyser Soze-esque, and he reminded me of when I was a kid, watching my lying ass brother tell my mother why he hadn’t come home the night before. My mother and I knew he was out either fucking some girl or robbing some armored car or something, but he’d stand there, while she poured on that maternal imploring to tell the truth, the one that would make me fold. He’d face her, eye to eye, and tell her, “I fell asleep on the subway after work and when I woke up it was sunrise.”

And he didn’t even have a job.

That’s Cheney.

In my neck of the woods, we’d call him “Gangster”

Palin, on the other hand, we’d call her, “PTA”

Just my thoughts…what do y’all think?

  1. davisoftheapes1
    September 20, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I wish Rachel Maddow would grow her hair out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

